Ah, I am glad to see you checking up on the current law to see if you can carry a taser in Michigan! Perhaps you are a Michigan resident and would like to own and carry a taser for self-defense? Or maybe you are planning on moving to Michigan and already own a taser?
Well, either way, when it comes to taser ownership, it is good to be up to date on current laws so as to avoid any nasty penalties. I strive to keep the public up-to-date and well-informed of their local laws so they can prepare themselves accordingly.
It is legal to carry a taser in Michigan. The bill was signed into law by Gov. Rick Snyder in May of 2012. Citizens of Michigan are required to have a concealed pistol permit in order to carry a taser legally and they are also required to have proper training on the use, effects, and risks of the device. This last part is all required, by law, to be provided by the salesperson at the time of the sale so as long as you have a concealed pistol permit, an I.D, and you are 21 or older then you are good to go!
I Thought It Was I
With the new law signed into effect on May 2012, as long as you have a concealed pistol permit or you are defined by the state as authorized personnel, such as a peace officer, then you are fine to carry a taser.
However, if you have a taser and you do not have a concealed pistol permit as a citizen you are subject to a felony which can land you in prison for up to 4 years or a fine of up to $2000. Or both! Ouch! Also, if you use the taser for anything other than self-defense you are subject to the same fine and up to 2 years imprisonment.
Keep in mind, there is information out there that says if you do not have a concealed pistol permit then you are only subject to a civil infraction (misdemeanor). According to the current law on the Michigan government website, this is NOT correct and the law clearly states the penalties listed above.
What To Do If You Are Stopped By A Police Officer
If you are carrying your taser with you then you are required to have your concealed pistol permit with you as well. Of course, you will need to have your I.D or driver’s license as well. You will also need to present both of these if the officer specifically requests them. If you do not and get caught you will be fined $100.
Additionally, if you are stopped by the police, you must IMMEDIATELY disclose that you have a concealed weapon and also a permit to be able to carry the weapon. If you do not you will be subject to a fine of $500 and a suspended concealed pistol permit for up to 6 months. If you fail to do so again in another incident within 3 years you will be looking at a $1000 fine and your permit permanently revoked. Just let them know, that’s all!
This video will give you more insight on how a police officer reacts and handles a situation of a routine traffic stop that involves a concealed weapons permit holder. This way you can see the situation before you are in it!
You Still Can’t Take It Everywhere
Even with a concealed pistol permit, there are still areas that you are prohibited to bring your taser to. I will go over these places with you but know that you ARE allowed to bring your taser to the parking lots of these places – implying you are simply dropping someone off or picking them up and not actually entering into the establishment.
You cannot take it onto school property unless you are the parent or legal guardian of a child attending the school and even then you must remain in the vehicle to just pick the child up or drop them off. All other areas include day care centers, a sports stadium, a bar or tavern, an establishment that sits 2,500 people or more, a hospital, or a college dorm.
Also, you are not allowed to take it to a church or similar place of worship unless the officials presiding over the establishment are aware and allow you to carry it.
The penalties follow the same suit as other offenses related to carrying a taser. The first offense will give you a $500 penalty and 6-month suspension, the second offense will revoke your license with the $1000 fine. And course, if you commit the offense a third time – well…now you are not licensed so you are subject to the felony listed above that comes with up to 4 years of imprisonment and/or the $2000 fine.
Acquiring A Concealed Pistol Permit
In Michigan, a concealed pistol application kit is provided for free by a county clerk or is available online.
The requirements for a concealed pistol permit include a few different things. First, you must be at least 21, have proper identification and be a citizen of the United States or someone who has obtained citizenship legally.
You must also be a legal resident of Michigan for at least 6-months, although the 6-month timeframe may be waived if the judge or county sheriff determine you or a member of your household may be endangered without it. The 6-month timeframe will also be waived if you already possess a concealed pistol permit from another state.
Another requirement is completing a pistol safety training course that is certified by the state of Michigan. Lastly, you must be free of any felony and an array of misdemeanors and not be deemed insane or unfit, healthwise.
Now You’re Ready!
At this point, you are fully informed of the requirements and restrictions of taser ownership in Michigan. You should also now understand the requirements so that you can carry a taser in Michigan and how you should respond to a police officer that has stopped you.
All of these things are important so as to avoid the penalties that are associated with improper taser ownership. Also, you are prepared to get rolling on your concealed pistol permit, that is, if you don’t have one already!
That’s it for now!