Are you a California resident looking for a new self defense weapon? Do you think a taser might be the right weapon for you? Maybe you are making plans to travel to California carrying a taser gun. It’s important to know the laws regarding taser guns in each state. Can you carry a taser in California? Let’s find out.
It is legal for anyone over 18 years of age to carry a taser in California. Minors between the ages of 16 and 18 years old may carry with parental consent. Taser guns are restricted only in the state’s public government buildings, public open meetings, on public school grounds, and in secure areas of airports. You do not need a permit to carry a taser in California.
California Penal Code Sec 17230 defines a stun gun in the following way: “As used in this part, stun gun means any item, except a less lethal weapon, used or intended to be used as either an offensive or defensive weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by the infliction of an electrical charge.”
While stun guns and taser guns are not the same weapon, a taser gun fits in to the definition prescribed by California State Law of a stun gun. Laws relevant to stun guns apply equally to taser guns.
Laws regarding taser guns in California are fairly liberal. Because these weapons are non-lethal, there is less restriction on their use than something like a traditional firearm. There are some individuals who are barred from purchasing, possessing or using tasers.
If you are a convicted felon in California or have been convicted of an assault in CA or any other state or country, or if you have a prior record of misusing a stun gun you may not, in any way, possess one. Likewise, if you are addicted to any narcotic you may not have a taser in your possession.
Where Are They Illegal?
California law dictates that taser guns will not be carried or used in state or public government buildings. They can’t be carried unto public school grounds or into secure areas of airports. You may not carry or use a taser in public meetings. Secure airport areas are typically after security checkpoints, but you should always confirm with airport staff ahead of time.
If you are unsure of whether a building you are visiting allows taser guns, err with caution and leave your weapon at home or locked in your vehicle. You will be charged with a misdemeanor offense for violating laws regarding restricted areas.
Are There Age Restrictions?
Anyone over the age of 18 can carry a taser without a permit in California. Minors between 16 and 18 can carry with the consent of their parents or legal guardians. This is a great provision for young people who work after school shifts and get out late at night, those using public transportation, or those who want to feel safer in their environment in general
You can view California Penal Code Sec. 22610 about the requirements around buying, using, or possessing stun guns here.
Legal Taser Models
All taser models currently being offered are legal to carry in California. These include the popular Taser Bolt, which is a redesign of the original C2 and even the Taser X2 Professional Series, which can be used to knock out two adversaries without needing to reload between firing.
It is important to review each taser model and compare it to your personal needs before purchasing one. They are a large investment. You want to be comfortable with your self-defense weapon. Each different taser gun varies slightly in size and function. While they are all legal, there may only be one that is the best fit for you.
What Are The Sale Requirements?
According to California Penal Code Sections 22615 and 22625, there are a few point of sale requirements for taser guns. Section 22615 dictates that the name of the manufacturer will be stamped on each gun sold and a serial number is to be applied by the manufacturer. 22625 requires an instruction booklet to be provided at the time of sale. It also confirms a $50 fine to be charged for each weapon sold without a booklet.
While it is important that an individual or business selling taser guns knows California laws surrounding the sale of these weapons, as a consumer it is your duty to know them as well. When owning a powerful self defense device you need to be intimately familiar with its usage and laws relating to it.
You should store everything related to your taser in one safe spot. It is always a good idea to keep your receipt of purchase handy. You want your instruction booklet readily available for reference. Keeping the storage case and any accessories or maintenance equipment all together makes ownership easy
Can you carry a taser in California? The answer, for most, is a resounding yes. As with any weapon, you need to be familiar with who can purchase, where they can be carried, and whether there are restrictions on their use